What's the best Radio for 2WS/4WS?

Talk about radio's, servo's, lighting, and anything else run though a reciever or radio here.
Post Reply
jdmerrill1240
Approved Member
Posts: 259
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:49 pm
Location: Thorntown, Indiana

What's the best Radio for 2WS/4WS?

Post by jdmerrill1240 » Thu Sep 04, 2014 6:20 pm

Ok I'm sure I will get a lot of different opinions on this but I need some help, I'm wanting a good radio that is capable of do 2WS as well as 4WS. I would prefer it have a switch or something that could turn 4WS on and off on the fly. I was looking at the Flysky-GT3C but don't think it has the ability to change between 2/4WS on the fly. So if any knows a good radio that doesn't cost an arm & leg please let me know.

Thanks
Juggernaut 2, Retro chassis Bigfoot, KK-1 Bigfoot 20, CPE Super Stallion, Boyer Digger , Why so serious?? Dark Knight KK-2

slapshot1979
Approved Member
Posts: 470
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 9:10 pm
Location: Great White North (Ontario,Canada)

Re: What's the best Radio for 2WS/4WS?

Post by slapshot1979 » Thu Sep 04, 2014 7:25 pm

DX3C is wicked for the price IMO

User avatar
Sixtys Guy
Approved Member
Posts: 1528
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:48 am
Location: Tasmania, Australia

Re: What's the best Radio for 2WS/4WS?

Post by Sixtys Guy » Thu Sep 04, 2014 8:00 pm

The Ground Ponder radio. You can switch between front 2WS, rear 2WS, 4WS and crab steer. Cheap on ebay or CPE sell them too.

jdmerrill1240
Approved Member
Posts: 259
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:49 pm
Location: Thorntown, Indiana

Re: What's the best Radio for 2WS/4WS?

Post by jdmerrill1240 » Thu Sep 04, 2014 8:05 pm

@ slapshot1979
Can you quickly switch between the 2/4WS ?

@ Sixtys Guy
On the ground pounder radio can you toggle just between the 2WS & 4WS without having to go through the crab and rear only??
Juggernaut 2, Retro chassis Bigfoot, KK-1 Bigfoot 20, CPE Super Stallion, Boyer Digger , Why so serious?? Dark Knight KK-2

User avatar
Sixtys Guy
Approved Member
Posts: 1528
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:48 am
Location: Tasmania, Australia

Re: What's the best Radio for 2WS/4WS?

Post by Sixtys Guy » Thu Sep 04, 2014 9:28 pm

jdmerrill1240 wrote:@ Sixtys Guy
On the ground pounder radio can you toggle just between the 2WS & 4WS without having to go through the crab and rear only??
No, you have to go through all of them. From memory, you go - Front 2WS - Rear 2WS - 4WS - Crab

jdmerrill1240
Approved Member
Posts: 259
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:49 pm
Location: Thorntown, Indiana

Re: What's the best Radio for 2WS/4WS?

Post by jdmerrill1240 » Thu Sep 04, 2014 11:17 pm

Yeah that's what I thought, I really just want something that I can flip a switch or something and go from 2WS to 4WS and not toggle through other settings to get back
Juggernaut 2, Retro chassis Bigfoot, KK-1 Bigfoot 20, CPE Super Stallion, Boyer Digger , Why so serious?? Dark Knight KK-2

mastathug0
Approved Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 2:16 am
Location: Charlottetown, PE

Re: What's the best Radio for 2WS/4WS?

Post by mastathug0 » Sun Feb 08, 2015 11:57 pm

when I was running rear steer on my crawler I used a traxxas tq3 three channel remote with the third channel modded to a three position toggle and used it as the rear only being controlled by the switch. It worked good up until I went with a dual stick airplane remote

chewy78
Approved Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2016 5:56 pm

Re: What's the best Radio for 2WS/4WS?

Post by chewy78 » Fri Mar 11, 2016 6:16 pm

left handers would be stuck with one of the higher end radios

darat76
Approved Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 10:53 am

Re: What's the best Radio for 2WS/4WS?

Post by darat76 » Sat Mar 12, 2016 3:34 am

the flysky gt3c can't do what you want out of the box
however
there are mods that allow you to go up to 8 plus channels, and reassign all the buttons.
there is a second mod for the gt3c, and that's a simple power button relocation, the one in the steering wheel has had a bad habit of breaking on people.

the flysky gt3b will also do the exact same job, with the exact same mod, but without the need to eventually repair/replace/relocate the power switch

Post Reply
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests