Does battery brand really matter?

Discuss all the facets of R/C electronics here.
Awesome Kong84
Approved Member

Does battery brand really matter?

Post by Awesome Kong84 » Tue Mar 08, 2016 9:21 pm

Ok so I have been doing a lot of shopping around. Bare with me here since I am very new to LiPo batteries. I see so many brands and prices out there. I'll be running 2s maybe 3s from time to time w/ at least a 5000mAh and a 25c rating through a SV3 3800kV in my CPE Barbarian I've been told by some at my local hobby shop stay away from some of the stuff you can find on Hobby King, SMC, SKYrc, etc. Stick w/ name brand like Traxxas, Durtrax, Associated, etc. There is a night and day difference in regards to prices. I'm really uncertain as to what I should do? Break the bank on a named brand battery or buy one from some of these unknowns?

darat76
Approved Member

Re: Does battery brand really matter?

Post by darat76 » Wed Mar 09, 2016 4:24 am

most electrical items, be it a tv, stereo, or battery, are made in the same place for the different brands, each brand has a spec and quality level they expect their items to be before they will apply their name to the items.

I have a pair of turnigy nano tech 5800 mah 30c, 60c burst 2s hard case lipos that I brought to race my sct with, I have brought an RC concepts 4500 mah 100c 2s hard case shorty lipo for it as well and what I have found is there is very little difference, both are high C ratings, both are in the higher mah scale, but at the end of the day, I get the exact same lap times out of both batteries.

capacity and discharge rates aside, the next big killer of lipos is the life span, all lipos start to build up internal resistance, meaning it charges slower, to a lower capacity, and discharges at a lower rate.

The particular battery I brought is this one: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... duct=17272