Need info on an esc

Discuss all the facets of R/C electronics here.
User avatar
shadowfocus603
Approved Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 3:45 am
Location: Littleton, NH

Need info on an esc

Post by shadowfocus603 » Sun Aug 23, 2015 8:27 pm

From what I can tell it's a Tsky Hobby Tyrannosaurus Rex 120a.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/131558697216
Anybody used one of these? Know what it's a knock off of? More importantly know what programming card works with them? I originally found them from a link on UltimateRC.
http://www.tmart.com/120A-Sensored-Brus ... 29155.html
Thanks

User avatar
shadowfocus603
Approved Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 3:45 am
Location: Littleton, NH

Re: Need info on an esc

Post by shadowfocus603 » Mon Aug 24, 2015 7:16 pm

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2466764

So I found that review on this esc after digging around and decided to bite the bullet and spend the $22. I'm coupling it to a Neewer 10.5 sensored motor. Should get it fairly close to my unsensored 4700kv EZRun. I'll post up reviews etc once I get the parts in.

User avatar
rex21
Approved Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 1:42 pm
Location: Star Prairie, WI

Re: Need info on an esc

Post by rex21 » Mon Aug 24, 2015 7:36 pm

Looks exactly like my Hobbyking 120a esc, which is programmable with the Hobby Wing programmer.

Thats pretty cheap, I may have to get a couple.

User avatar
shadowfocus603
Approved Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 3:45 am
Location: Littleton, NH

Re: Need info on an esc

Post by shadowfocus603 » Mon Aug 24, 2015 7:41 pm

I have the WP SC8 120a and I have the basic programmer card for that. I'm hoping it works for this as well. Assuming I can get the esc sorted I will probably get a few spares.

User avatar
shadowfocus603
Approved Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 3:45 am
Location: Littleton, NH

Re: Need info on an esc

Post by shadowfocus603 » Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:55 am

Freakin awesome. Just got a tip from a fellow on UltimateRC and found this link:
http://www.ultimaterc.com/forums/showth ... p?t=226007
It confirmed that they are compatible with the Hobbywing program cards and Hobbywing software updates. I will use my LED programming card for now and will be getting the LCD soon to connect to my pc to update the firmware to v3.0 Hobbywing for the v2.1.

User avatar
Sixtys Guy
Approved Member
Posts: 1531
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:48 am
Location: Tasmania, Australia

Re: Need info on an esc

Post by Sixtys Guy » Wed Sep 02, 2015 12:10 pm

Let me know how you go with this. I'd be keen to use them if they work ok. I have a HK program card that would most likely work.

User avatar
shadowfocus603
Approved Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 3:45 am
Location: Littleton, NH

Re: Need info on an esc

Post by shadowfocus603 » Wed Sep 02, 2015 4:52 pm

Review has been on hold. Shipping has gone full derp on this. Shipped from California to Massachusetts then back to California en route to New Hampshire. #-o I will definitely update once I get it. Lesson learned. Order from sellers nearest to you. The extra six bucks is worth getting the item in a timely manner. I am swearing off California period. Illinois has been pretty bad too

User avatar
rex21
Approved Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 1:42 pm
Location: Star Prairie, WI

Re: Need info on an esc

Post by rex21 » Wed Sep 02, 2015 8:40 pm

I though I was the only one!

I can get stuff from China quicker than California.

User avatar
shadowfocus603
Approved Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 3:45 am
Location: Littleton, NH

Re: Need info on an esc

Post by shadowfocus603 » Wed Sep 02, 2015 11:15 pm

At least with China you EXPECT it to take awhile. Just checked tracking on this and it's finally in New Hampshire. I expect to have it tomorrow so I will try to post up a mini review in a new thread. It will be a week or so before I can actually run it since its going in my sons race Slash and he is still getting used to running it with just the stock motor, let alone a 10.5 brushless system on lipo lol.

User avatar
Sixtys Guy
Approved Member
Posts: 1531
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:48 am
Location: Tasmania, Australia

Re: Need info on an esc

Post by Sixtys Guy » Thu Sep 03, 2015 11:02 am

I think I will pull the trigger on a couple of these. For me, the only option is out of China.. usually take 3-4 weeks to arrive to me.

User avatar
shadowfocus603
Approved Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 3:45 am
Location: Littleton, NH

Re: Need info on an esc

Post by shadowfocus603 » Thu Sep 03, 2015 8:26 pm

Just got this in today. Finally. I'm not thrilled with the way it was shipped and packaged but it appears to be in one piece so I'll let that slide.
Image
Image
Image
Here it is next to the 10.5 sensored Neewer I am going to use.
Image
The motor wires seem to be a bit on the short side at least in my application (Traxxas Slash with the Traxxas lcg chassis). I'll throw it together as is or I might take it to the LHS and have them solder up some longer wires and throw it all together with the motor and battery connector. I hate soldering and am willing to pay someone else to do it correctly lol.

User avatar
shadowfocus603
Approved Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 3:45 am
Location: Littleton, NH

Re: Need info on an esc

Post by shadowfocus603 » Thu Sep 03, 2015 10:33 pm

I mentioned in another one of my threads that I'm a very impatient person lol. System is all wired up and installed. See viewtopic.php?f=48&t=30284 for details.

User avatar
Sixtys Guy
Approved Member
Posts: 1531
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:48 am
Location: Tasmania, Australia

Re: Need info on an esc

Post by Sixtys Guy » Thu Dec 24, 2015 8:18 pm

I recently bought one of these and have been running it in my Madforce. It has been absolutely faultless. Programming is done manually using Hobbywing instructions, although I'm sure a program card would be available.

User avatar
shadowfocus603
Approved Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2015 3:45 am
Location: Littleton, NH

Re: Need info on an esc

Post by shadowfocus603 » Fri Dec 25, 2015 5:07 pm

I am using the Hobbywing LCD programming card which also allows you to update the firmware via your pc and Hobbywing software. Currently running the most recent mod firmware. I cooked one of the 2 esc's I bought running a hot 550 4300kv but the first one I got is still running fine. It has seen a couple dozen races and countless hours of practice.

dragonslayer
Regular Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: Need info on an esc

Post by dragonslayer » Sat Jan 16, 2016 11:32 am

i bought one a couple weeks back been good so far with the exception of the fan it wouldnt spin an started to smoke rune mine in my txt 1 with a hpi vector 4000kv motor an yes u can use the hobbywing lcd programer on it an yes i emailed them bout the fan an was taken care real quick this esc reminds me of the hobbywing xerun v2 120 amp setup think i might hafta buy nother one just to have on hand

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests