savage x 2 speed not shifting?

Although not considered a traditional monster truck, they still have monster coolness.
Want to see your truck featured on the home page? Enter our monthly contest in the general discussion section!
Forum rules
Want to see your truck featured on the home page? Enter our monthly contest in the general discussion section!
megafan88
Approved Member

savage x 2 speed not shifting?

Post by megafan88 » Mon Jul 03, 2006 2:55 am

hey guys, i am new to nitro but i am learning quick. I have a savage x and it is on its 8th tank tommorow, and it is not shifting at all. The truck did shift on the 6th tank, but i was running it lean, but it ran perfect on the 6th. Although i did notice the engine winds out a lot before it shifts. I went to adjust it but could not find the adjustment screw in the tranny like it shows in the manual. I think it is hidden under the protecter and is not at the opening where it should be. Please, some help. :cry:
I dont really have too many rc's......do I? ;p

132NHAF
Administrator

Post by 132NHAF » Wed Jul 05, 2006 5:43 pm

I don't have a savage, but do have experience with the two-speeds. First off, 8 tanks is still not broken in. This is an important point since the truck is not making max power yet. I'm not sure where the adjustment is for that two-speed, but once you find the set screw, try opening it about 1/8 turn and see if that helps. Also realize that outside temps and of course running rich will affect how it shifts.

My suggestion is to take your time and make sure it's broken in well, then buy a temp gun (if you don't already have one) to make sure it's tuned right. After that, it should be shifting better, but if not, then you will know it's not the engine that needs adjusting and you can go from there.

Hope this helps.
Scott T

Stickers...Get your ClodTalk stickers here: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=25953

It's not WHAT toys you play with, but that you play with toys at all that is important.

brushlesspede