motor wiring question

Talk about the Clod Buster, and all other motor on axle trucks here.
Want to see your truck featured on the home page? Enter our monthly contest in the general discussion section!
Forum rules
Want to see your truck featured on the home page? Enter our monthly contest in the general discussion section!
Post Reply
ratpower396
Approved Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 6:14 pm

motor wiring question

Post by ratpower396 » Mon Jul 03, 2017 2:58 pm

Do most of you guys hardwire your motors to the esc or use using plugs? if plugs what type are you using??

Thanks

User avatar
matt1ptkn
Regular Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 3:13 pm
Location: Moundsville, WV

Re: motor wiring question

Post by matt1ptkn » Mon Jul 03, 2017 3:24 pm

Back in the old days I used plugs, so that I could swap out motors easily. But I later realized that I was wasting a lot of plugs on motors and soldering/unsoldering wires really didn't take much time. Since then I have always hardwired. I'd say its really just a personal preference, but plugs could, on a rare occasion, come unplugged. ;)
-Matt

User avatar
SFC K
Administrator
Posts: 7405
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 1:42 am
Location: Oakdale, MN

Re: motor wiring question

Post by SFC K » Mon Jul 03, 2017 5:31 pm

Plugs all the way. If you were a die hard racer, then hard wire the motor with no plugs in-between for less loss in current and more power to the motor. I'm not sure if it really helps or not but then again, I'm not a racer...
Jeff

User avatar
andymac0035
Administrator
Posts: 11177
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 9:54 pm
Location: Canaan, NH

Re: motor wiring question

Post by andymac0035 » Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:25 pm

^^^ Oh it helps, I find myself hardwiring more and more...... it really does make a difference.
Almost everything I have is either hardwired or uses some kind of high-current connection.

User avatar
Sixtys Guy
Approved Member
Posts: 1528
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 1:48 am
Location: Tasmania, Australia

Re: motor wiring question

Post by Sixtys Guy » Tue Jul 04, 2017 2:15 am

I don't hardwire..... On brushless I use the standard 3mm plugs. If they come with 4mm plugs I usually take them off and use 3mm plug as this is what most of my trucks use. On brushed I have actually just started using the same 3mm plugs as I use on the brushless motors. I never liked the standard bullet connectors, not sure why I didn't start doing this a long time ago!

Post Reply
Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests