LIPO Hardcases x2 On Ripper Pro Chassis

Support forum for Thunder Tech Racing.
http://www.thundertechracing.com/

Moderators: Thunder VP, Thunder Tech Pres.

Post Reply
West Coast3120
Regular Member
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 5:48 am

LIPO Hardcases x2 On Ripper Pro Chassis

Post by West Coast3120 » Sat Oct 16, 2010 5:20 am

Thunder VP, Or someone help me, I just got the Castle Creations 4600kv brushless setup w/ sidewinder esc's and was recommended to go with a lipo batt specifically a 2cell 30C 7.4v 5200mah turingy hardcase battery, looking to keep it more realistic, but i am unaware of how big the hardcase batts actually are and where to mount dual batts on the chassis, is there something i can buy to make it possible? i want to keep the center of gravity low, also only looking to go 30 to 35 mph at the max, 30 would be just fine with me, is this batt too powerful? i thought i read on here that you ran a castle setup with a lipo, just wondering what your recomendations are. Thank-You

User avatar
Budhatrain
Business Member
Posts: 1785
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: LIPO Hardcases x2 On Ripper Pro Chassis

Post by Budhatrain » Sat Oct 16, 2010 6:50 am

you really don't need to go with dual batteries. just one 2cell 30C 5200 turnigy will be fine
Need Screws?! Check out Screw Loose Hex Head Hardware here at Clodtalk or go to http://screwloosehardware.com

Team Driver for 2 great companies, visit http://www.cowrc.com and http://store.rc4wd.com/

West Coast3120
Regular Member
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 5:48 am

Re: LIPO Hardcases x2 On Ripper Pro Chassis

Post by West Coast3120 » Sat Oct 16, 2010 6:41 pm

thank you again and sorry for all the questions, will this hardcase batt fit in where the NIMH batt used to? i havent changed the chassis at all but the NIMH batt was a real tight fit on the ripper chassis.

User avatar
Budhatrain
Business Member
Posts: 1785
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: LIPO Hardcases x2 On Ripper Pro Chassis

Post by Budhatrain » Mon Oct 18, 2010 1:07 am

umm well depends on where you buy your battery and what brand. The batteries sold in the US typically try to make them the size of nimh- the hobbyking and HK one's tend to be a smudge bigger for some reason. I personally didn't have a problem with this and took out my dremel and fixed the problem on my CF chassis- but not everyone is comfortable with this and I understand
Need Screws?! Check out Screw Loose Hex Head Hardware here at Clodtalk or go to http://screwloosehardware.com

Team Driver for 2 great companies, visit http://www.cowrc.com and http://store.rc4wd.com/

User avatar
Thunder VP
Business Member
Posts: 557
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 6:03 am
Contact:

Re: LIPO Hardcases x2 On Ripper Pro Chassis

Post by Thunder VP » Tue Oct 19, 2010 2:08 am

Some of the hard case Lipos will fit the stock battery slot on the Ripper Pro and some may not. If the pack is under 45mm x 25mm it will fit without mods.
If close a little filing could work.
Another option is to use the battery tray out of our Rage chassis. It bolts right in the Ripper and lays the battery length wise between the chassis plates.
Brad, Thunder Tech Racing V.P.
http://www.thundertechracing.com

West Coast3120
Regular Member
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 5:48 am

Re: LIPO Hardcases x2 On Ripper Pro Chassis

Post by West Coast3120 » Tue Oct 19, 2010 4:53 am

yes i saw that rage battery tray on a few trucks i researched online thanks for the help, can i just order a rage battery tray?

User avatar
Thunder VP
Business Member
Posts: 557
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 6:03 am
Contact:

Re: LIPO Hardcases x2 On Ripper Pro Chassis

Post by Thunder VP » Wed Oct 20, 2010 2:45 am

You can order just the tray. Its not listed in the online store by itself though. You will need to call or email to order. For the next week we will be tied up with the iHobby expo show in Chicago so email may be best.
Brad, Thunder Tech Racing V.P.
http://www.thundertechracing.com

West Coast3120
Regular Member
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 5:48 am

Re: LIPO Hardcases x2 On Ripper Pro Chassis

Post by West Coast3120 » Wed Oct 20, 2010 3:26 am

ok that sounds great thanks for your help

West Coast3120
Regular Member
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 5:48 am

Re: LIPO Hardcases x2 On Ripper Pro Chassis

Post by West Coast3120 » Thu Oct 28, 2010 2:51 am

Hey Budhatrain
do you know of any lipo wall chargers that would work on those turnigy batts? i'm not experienced with lipos and to be honest after seeing some of the explosions online i am a little nervous, or what charger do you have and hae you had any problems with it?

User avatar
Budhatrain
Business Member
Posts: 1785
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: LIPO Hardcases x2 On Ripper Pro Chassis

Post by Budhatrain » Thu Oct 28, 2010 1:59 pm

lipo's can be dangerous if you over charge them or over discharge them (or stab them). With today's tech either situation can be avoided easily and you can go to sleep at night. I think first and formost just do some lipo education and understand the battery (terms and product) here's a good website that I have shared many times: http://www.rchelicopterfun.com/rc-lipo-batteries.html

Chargers are obviously an important item to keep your investment safe and long life. When I made the jump into lipos I didn't want to invest loads of cash and had a target of $100-150 to get started- I was timid to start something new. I purchased two integy 2s 5200mah 30C Hard Case lipos and an accucel 6 charger to get started- with shipping and lipo sack I was well within that startup goal. http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... oduct=7028

This charger has great reviews not only on Hobby King's website but the rc community in general. This is a charger/balancer which in my book is a must, I always charge/balance my batteries and it takes about an hour with a completely empty pack- which is rarely the case. You have to pick up an external powersupply that is basically the same as a laptop ps- you need a 12v 5a one- I picked mine up from ebay for under $10 and it works fine. The one on hobbyking had very bad reviews so I went a different route: http://cgi.ebay.com/12V-5A-Power-Supply ... 5d29e9b1b1 which looking back they probably are the same one haha... you can always make your own powersupply from on Old PC- there are walkthroughs on the internet for this conversion.

I have had no problems with this setup and love LIPOS. My friend just picked up a triton2 eq... which I probably would have gone that route if my hongkong experiment went wrong which it hasn't http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wt ... XVZA8&P=ML This is good because it has the built in power supply and balancer- there are many good options out there. For an American Based company I would look at amainhobbies and go their protek route.

Pick up a lipo sack for peace of mind: http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wt ... XSEA5&P=ML I keep my lipos stuff in a metal tool box too.

There is at least one other member SFC K that has this exact same setup and has had no problems last time I talked with him.

If in the case you don't have an esc that has a built-in lipo cutoff there are two things you can do- as soon as I see performance drop I stop running the vehicle (this has worked well for me) or you can pick up an alarm: http://www.maxampswholesale.com/2S-LVA.htm this plugs right in to your balance plug. This one has great reviews and SFC K says the light is very bright and alarm is loud. The one from Hobby King doesn't have that great of reviews.

Ohh a third also you can purchase an external lipo cutoff switch...that you plug into you batteries and esc and will cut off the power once it get's past a certain voltage. Most new esc's this is coming standard and for me I rarely run the batteries that long but if I do once I see the performance drop significantly- I STOP

Hope that helps- take the time and do the research and then make your purchase with peace of mind. I did a lot of forum stalking and research before I made the jump and I can comfortably sleep at night.

ONCE YOU GO LIPO YOU NEVER LOOK BACK
Need Screws?! Check out Screw Loose Hex Head Hardware here at Clodtalk or go to http://screwloosehardware.com

Team Driver for 2 great companies, visit http://www.cowrc.com and http://store.rc4wd.com/

User avatar
SFC K
Administrator
Posts: 7405
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 1:42 am
Location: Oakdale, MN

Re: LIPO Hardcases x2 On Ripper Pro Chassis

Post by SFC K » Thu Oct 28, 2010 3:01 pm

Budhatrain is so right! Lipo's are the way to go! Turnigy Lipo's and chargers are really nice and at the price you can't go wrong. I have been using them in all my RC's now and have had no issues. I also swap the Maxamps Lipo cutoff from vehicle to vehicle as most of my ESC's are not set up for low voltage cut off. I have had no issues with it at all.

Check out the links Mike has listed and if you still have questions, just let us know.

Jeff
Jeff

West Coast3120
Regular Member
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 5:48 am

Re: LIPO Hardcases x2 On Ripper Pro Chassis

Post by West Coast3120 » Fri Oct 29, 2010 4:11 am

thanks alot guys a little more research and then i'll make the jump, you guys have been great help and i appreciate it

Post Reply
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests